Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Cat and co in Alabama
18 juillet 2010

New York!!!

Hi everybody,

I'm back after a few days without news from me. Everything is ok, I'm getting used being at home again, enjoying my visits, but sometimes I really miss Alabama. I stayed at home for a week, waiting for my car's paperwork and a new license plate. I did a big reorganization in the house, the shipment is supposed to arrive soon, it's necessary to make some space in the doors!!! The kids were so excited to find their toys back, I didn't see them a lot for the first days, stationned in their bedrooms playing for hours and hours!!!

I really enjoy eating again good chocolate, good cheeses, good meat, good bread, our delicious french fries, specialities from my country that I missed a lot in the US and that I couldn't cook there.

I miss to speak English, and I was really excited a few days ago when I met two British people in the supermarket next to my house! I didn't tell you yet that we registered Manon and Hugo in a new school, and in a school with 50% French-and 50% English!!! A change for them again, but it would be a pity to loose their English! I was really amazed that Manon is excited to go to this school, she loooooves to speak in English!!! Most of the time, the kids watch their movies in English, we think it's important they keep going to listen to it. Sometimes, we speak English as well at home.

We are still delayed due to the jet lag except Didier who started at work on last Monday. He's really busy trying to adapt to his new life (he works in a new place) and to adjust at home when back from work. He sorts lots of paperwork out from this year!

Today I would like to share with you the pictures we took in New York. We spent 4 days over there, we tried the different transportation means to reach dowtown, and we finally found a bus going directly downtown from the airport close to our hotel. It was easier and faster than taking a shuttle, an air train, the train and the underground!

I've been really impressed by New York! Time Square and its huge advertisements, the high skyscrapers, to see Central Park like in the movies, and the view from the Empire State Building... I couldn't realise before that New York is so big!

Ground Zero, where the twins towers were stationned- now a memorial is under construction

5

6

debris from the towers in shape of a cross which became a symbol of hope

2

3

4

in the streets of Manhattan

7

8

11

Have you seen the little boy on head line?

13

And the guy jumping over the kids???!!! Please don't move Hugo!!!

12

our ticket to see the Statue of Liberty

14

16

15

17

18

19

20

21

23

Brooklyn Bridge

24

25

26

Here we are

28

29

31

33

34

35

36

37

41

the sun playing hide and seek behind this big tower- suddenly it's getting dark

42

an cruise ship close to us- I'm really impressed by its size!

43

44

45

39

46

Hugo fell asleep before the end of the tour

47

In a park we recognized Spiderman probably busy in a new mission! Look at the bag of money he robbed from thieves!

49

It's really hot, a little bit of water is welcome!

50

a Memorial

51

So busy in NY!!! How much time we have to relax???

52

53

54

A new game for Hugo!

55

56

57

sooo high!

58

59

they are everywhere in the city!

60

65

61

Look at the cars comparing to the advertisements!!! And they are not 'lil european cars!

63

64

the yellow cabs

66

the firemen

69

68

70

Times Square

72

in the biggest toy store of the world- even a big wheel inside!!!

77

78

73

75

74

76

79

81

and inside the Barbie House, several levels with Barbies everywhere!

82

84

90

88

86

87

89

91

94

95

96

Ground Zero in the underground- it became a terminus after the tragedy!

98

101

102

103

in the air train

104

201

the bus we took for the 2 last days

105

106

by day

107

108

on Brodway

109

110

111

112

a visit at the Empire State Building

113

114

from the 86th floor

126

The cars look like tiny toys!

ESB4

ESB1

Central Park which is big seems to be small

ESB17

ESB5

ESB6

ESB7

ESB8

ESB9

ESB10

View on the Statue of Liberty

ESB11

ESB12

ESB14

ESB15

122

ESB13

ESB18

ESB19

127

still on the 5th Avenue

128

129

hotdogs and bretzels at each street's corner

130

131

and totally amazing, this old church lost in the middle of  big and modern buildings

132

students make money as they can

134

135

entering in Central Park

136

the park is huge

Elmo is there too

137

in the entire city, lots of artists drawing portraits of tourists

138

and the zoo like in the movie Madagascar

139

140

do you recognize that?

141

after hours walking we take a break in the park

142

there are plenty of squerels

143

and as in lots of movies, the famous 'open' park

144

145

July 4th means lots of people!!!

146

and especially for the big fireworks

148

147

149

and 2 days before going back home

Manon wanted to visit a giant Build-a-Bear Workshop

220

221

225

224

226

227

202

the museum "Madame Tussauds"

203

204

Do you remember Forrest Gump? and the Bubba Shrimps?

205

206

and his famous quote?

207

this is his store

209

208

Times Square by day

210

211

do you see us?

212

She's gonna help you!

213

on the low part of the photo on the left side- close to her fingers- I'm taking a picture, Didier is on my left side (when you look at us)

214

215

New York will be NY

216

217

218

228

230

219

M&M's world- 4 floors of gadgets from that brand

232

246

234

235

the world's biggest wall of chololate

236

with or without nuts? and colors I've never seen before

237

241

238

239

240

and the neighbour: Hersheys!

233

244

245

even Iron Man loves chocolate

243

back to the streets

231

247

242

248

giants stores everywhere!!!

249

our last night in NY

250

251

252

253

256

258

259

260

Bye bye New York!!! The day after is the Day D! Time to go back home! And I realise that things won't be the same anymore!

This great year is reaching its end point, and I feel sadness, and joy at the same time, sad to leave this lifestyle, all the memories we lived here, the wonderful people we met, and at the same time happy and so blessed for having this opportunity in my life!

I'm scared of going back home and confident in the future at the same time- it's really paradoxal!

I know that I will need time to ajust and to accept that my life is still going on in another way now, but I can also discover new things in my own country... and I know that I won't see home with the same eyes anymore!

Well, life still has to bring me lots of other things- I just have to and want to enjoy all these gifts!

Have a good week and talk to you soon.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
G
mazette NY a l'air gigantesque ! ça grouille trop pour moi hihi ; je ne suis pas non plus une grande voyageuse mais malgré tout tu m'as donné quelques envies ! Plein de bisous à pincettes
B
seules des personnes uqi vivent les mêmes expériences que toi peuvent certainement te comprendre Cat.........................<br /> merci en tous cas de nous faire poartage r encore et encore!!!!<br /> et finalement, te lire en anglais ne me déplaît pas!!!!!
V
Si je n'étais pas au bureau, tu me ferais couler quelques larmes :(<br /> J'imagine bien que cette année te laissera des souvenirs impérissables, tu reprendras vite tes habitudes en Belgique mais tu ne seras plus jamais tout à fait la même, c'est très gai et enrichissant je trouve.<br /> A chaque fois que je rentre de là bas, je ne suis plus la même, j'essaye de garder les bons côtés pour rendre la vie ici la meilleure qui soit, les US et mes amis US ont changé ma vie, ça peut paraître complètement débile mais pourtant c'est la réalité :))<br /> Life is beautiful !<br /> Bisous ma belle, à très vite j'espère !
M
Merci pour tous ces "reportages" aussi intéressants les uns que les autres, tout est gigantesque et démesuré là-bas.<br /> Bon retour à la réalité d'ici !!!!
Cat and co in Alabama
Publicité
Newsletter
Archives
Publicité